2014 Annual Recognition Breakfast

Annual foundation events
Back to recognition breakfast

2014 Annual Recognition Breakfast

City School District Educational Foundation hosted its 11th Annual Recognition Breakfast fundraiser on Saturday, March 29, 2014, from 8:00-10:30 AM at the OnCenter.

This year the theme of the Foundation’s Annual Recognition Breakfast acknowledged and celebrated alumni giving and support of Syracuse City Schools. The Foundation presented its annual Recognition Awards to four distinctive alumni of the Syracuse City School District.

David Moynihan: David Moynihan was a 1973 graduate of Henninger High School and a Partner at Testone Marshall & Discenza. Under David’s leadership, his accounting firm supported Franklin Magnet for many years with school supplies and winter apparel for the students. David is one of the founding partners of the Career Opportunities in the Accounting Profession program (COAP). COAP brings inner city/minority high school students in for free training that highlights opportunities in the field, resume building, dressing for success and other key tips for students. David has also worked on the Partners for Education program which connects schools and businesses, and he and his firm recently made a $20,000 multi-year contribution to Say Yes to Education. Sadly, David passed away in early 2015, but the Foundation was so proud to be able to personally present him with this well-deserved award at the 2014 breakfast. (VIEW VIDEO OF HIS ACCEPTANCE SPEECH)

Manny Breland: Manny Breland is a 1952 graduate of Central High School and is a pioneer in our local sports history. He started the biggest revolution in Syracuse sports history by becoming the first African-American to receive a basketball scholarship to play at Syracuse University. Breland went on to help his Syracuse Orangemen team to an 18-7 record and the school’s first NCAA Tournament appearance in 1957. He has given back to Syracuse City schools and students as a coach, teacher, school principal, mentor and role model. Manny retired from the Syracuse School District in 1991 after 31 years of service, and was in enshrined in the Syracuse Sports Hall of Fame in 1992.

Gino Duca and Michael Grieb:  Gino Duca, Henninger High School-Class of 1992 and Mike Grieb, Corcoran High School-Class of 1991, are wonderful examples of SCSD alumni giving back!  Under the banner of their company, Salt City Technical, Gino and Mike  have established an incredible role model of philanthropy to underwrite the various costs of STEM education by forming a foundation to support the VEX competitions in Syracuse Schools. Gino and Mike have tapped over 16 other companies, many of their business contacts, to generate a funding stream to support their STEM Foundation on behalf of the SCSD STEM Clubs. Students in STEM clubs from Nottingham, Corcoran, Fowler, Henninger, Frazier, Clary, Danforth, Ed Smith and Lincoln MS and their STEM Coaches have all been touched by their generosity!

The Foundation also recognized four “Educators of the Year” from the Syracuse City School District. The Educational Foundation, in cooperation with the Syracuse City School District, is proud to recognize men and women who help to ensure educational excellence in the School District. Each year, the Foundation recognizes one elementary teacher, one secondary teacher, one administrator, and one support staff member. To be eligible, an Educator of the Year candidate must be a full-time staff member and they can be nominated by colleagues, students, parents, or community organizations. Key factors that are considered in the selection process are the individual’s unique abilities that make an individual outstanding among his or her peers. Winners of these awards are staff members who demonstrate a willingness to go “above and beyond” and who provide support to students in an exceptional manner. The 2014 Educators of the Year were:

Elementary Teacher Winner – Heather Marzullo, Fifth Grade Teacher, Hughes School
Secondary Teacher Winner – Gwen Raeford, Science Teacher, Nottingham High School
Administrative Winner – Ken Baxter, Vice Principal, Nottingham High School
Support Staff Winner– Brian Gibbs-Griffith, School Counselor – ELM School

The Foundation also introduced the 2013-2013 Foundation Grant recipients and each school project funded had a table top exhibit for guests to see in the foyer of the OnCenter Ballroom prior to the breakfast program. For this year, the Foundation provided over $50,000 to fund 17 different projects in Syracuse City Schools. Teachers and students will be on hand to demonstrate and show how their projects are progressing.

Other Past Breakfasts

2019 Annual Recognition Breakfast
Read More
2018 Annual Recognition Breakfast
Read More
2017 Annual Recognition Breakfast
Read More
2016 Annual Recognition Breakfast
Read More
2015 Annual Recognition Breakfast
Read More
2013 Annual Recognition Breakfast
Read More
2012 Annual Recognition Breakfast
Read More
2011 Annual Recognition Breakfast
Read More

Join Our Mailing List!


  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.